Tags

, , , , , , ,

I like to cook, a lot. While I do keep my home clean, normal wear and tear can start to show. Below is a picture of my 5 year old stove after a regular cleaning with soap and water followed by stovetop polish.

Clean Stove Like New

See all the white spots? That’s because the polish got stuck on something it can’t clean off. The polish also stains the stone burner rings and does nothing for the vent cover.

Clean Stove Like New

I would love to have a stove that sparkles like new! To give it a boost I used four simple tools; baking soda, vinegar, a toothbrush, and elbow grease.

Clean Stove Like New

Transfer some of the vinegar into a spray bottle, pouring it would cause too much to come out at once. Sprinkle the baking soda on all of the stains, then spray with vinegar. You will hear hissing as the chemicals react.

Clean Stove Like New

Small stains don’t need much time, but wait a few minutes for heavier stains. Use the toothbrush and elbow grease to scrub the stain away with the baking soda/vinegar paste.

Clean Stove Like New

Wipe the resulting mess up with paper towels and voila! It looks much better! In this example I ran out of elbow grease, but after I pick up some more I could go back over it and make it really shine like new.

Clean Stove Like New


For information about real estate in Chicago or resources in your area please contact us and sign up for our free market report!

