Tags

, , , , ,

Most people know brunch is my favorite meal of the week. Today I learned that I don’t need the weekend to enjoy brunch! At around 1:00 p.m. I started feeling hungry. I hadn’t found anyone to go to lunch with, so I asked my Twitter friends to suggest a place. Immediately one of my neighbors said, go to Tribute and let me know how it is! So Brian, this review is for you.

A few months ago, when the world was a different place, I worked at the Art Institute and the restaurant adjacent to the Essex Inn was a run down diner and bar. Every day on my walk home I saw the same retired couple sitting in the same booth at the window, sipping on Bud Light. Today, for the first time in my life, I walked into that space. The retired couple was nowhere to be seen, nor was any Bud Light.

I sat at the bar and took note of the tap list, Left Hand, Lagunitas, Great Lakes, all fine micro-brews, oh, and wine, on tap?! There were only a few tables occupied and one other person at the bar, it was already 1:30 p.m. on a Tuesday after all. Everyone was spaced well enough that the atmosphere felt private, but comfortable. With oldies on the stereo and couches at the floor to ceiling windows I could imagine enjoying happy hour there.

The bartender handed me a menu and the first thing I noticed was that it was full of breakfast items! The top of the menu explained clearly, brunch until 2:00 p.m. It was a good mixture of breakfast and lunch foods from eggs benedict to a po’boy sandwich. I saw that the pancakes are served with lime syrup and I couldn’t resist.

1:30 p.m. seems to be the perfect time to have lunch, the service was super fast. I had just noticed the enticing scent of my neighbor’s food when my plate of pancakes and perfectly crispy bacon arrived. I don’t know who came up with lime syrup, but I’m sold, going forth I don’t want my pancakes any other way.

If you haven’t seen pictures yet, check out the unveiling at South Loop Connection. Have you explored Tribute, one of the newest South Loop restaurants? Let us know how well you liked it in the comments below.


For information about real estate in Chicago or resources in your area please contact us and sign up for our free market report!

